Your Source For Local and Regional News



Sports Wyoming

Post-season basketball award lists released

The Star Valley High School boys basketball team in action against Natrona High School March 9, 2023 during the class 4A State Basketball Tournament at Kelly Walsh High School in Casper. Photo by Michael Smith

The lists for both 4A All-Conference and All-State have both been released by the Wyoming Coaches Association (WCA).

Star Valley picked up a pair of All-Conference selections in Max Jensen and Cooper Lancaster as well as a 4A West Coach of the Year award for Matt Shumway. Jensen was named to the All-State list.

Jensen led the Braves in scoring at 13.4 per game. He scored a career-high 33 against Marsh Valley this season and led the team in three-point shooting percentage at 47%. He made 51 triples on the season.

Lancaster, a sophomore,  averaged 11.1 points per game for the Braves and led the team in steals and was second on the team in rebounds and blocked shots.

Coach Shumway compiled a record of (20-7) in his first season at the helm of the Braves, earning the #2 seed from the 4A West to the State Tournament and advancing to the semi-finals.

Kenlee Engelhardt rises for a shot in the paint against Cheyenne East in the 4A Quarterfinals at Casper College. (PHOTO BY MICHAEL SMITH)

In the 4A Girls class, Emily Dana and Kenlee Engelhardt were both named All-Conference with Engelhardt earning All-State.

Engelhard wrapped a highly-successful varsity career averaging 10.3 points per game, 3.1 assists, 3.9 steals and 1.0 blocks. All of these stats led the Lady Braves in those categories. Engelhart scored a career-high 31 points against Kelly Walsh and also hit double-digit steals against both Marsh Valley and Green River.

Dana, a junior, led the team in rebounds with 172 for the season, an average of 7.2 per game and had a double-double on multiple occasions this season. She averaged 8.7 points per game.


4A West All-Conference (BOLD = All-State)

Emily Dana (Jr) (Star Valley)

Kenlee Engelhardt (Sr) (Star Valley)

Grace Hays (Cody)

Molly Hays (Cody)

Sophia Radakovich (Cody)

Ellie Talich (Cody)

Addison Demaret (Green River)

Isabel Vasco (Green River)

Kennedy Davila (Kelly Walsh)

Lillian Hudson (Kelly Walsh)

Hailey Engstrom (Riverton)

Emma Asay (Rock Springs)

Ella Brewster (Rock Springs)

Sydnee Harris (Rock Springs)

4A West Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Molly Hays (Cody)

Defensive Player of the Year: Molly Hays (Cody)

Coach of the Year: Chris Wagner (Cody)


4A West All-Conference (BOLD = All-State)

Max Jensen (Sr) (Star Valley)

Cooper Lancaster (Soph) (Star Valley)

Maddax Ball (Cody)

Chase Hatch (Cody)

Kai Barker (Evanston)

Clayton Cook (Evanston)

Theran Archibald (Green River)

Seb Brunner (Jackson)

Andrew Hanna (Jackson)

Mason Eager (Kelly Walsh)

Darrick DeVries (Riverton)

Parker Paxton (Riverton)

Kael Anderson (Rock Springs)

Je’Von Newman (Rock Springs)

4A West Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Parker Paxton (Riverton)

Defensive Player of the Year: Theran Archibald (Green River)

Coach of the Year: Matt Shumway (Star Valley)

Let us know what you think!