Your Source For Local and Regional News



Sports Wyoming

Three Cowboys Earn Preseason All-Mountain West Honors

Wyoming natives Frank Crum and Jordan Bertagnole hoist the Paniolo Trophy after a 42-9 win over Hawai on November 18, 2023. Photo by (@wyo_football)

• Wyoming picked sixth in preseason poll

 LAS VEGAS, Nev. (July 10, 2024) – The Mountain West Conference released on Wednesday its 2024 Preseason Predicted Order of Finish and Preseason All-Conference Team as selected by Mountain West media members.  Wyoming was picked to finish sixth in the 12-team Mountain West Conference and three Cowboys were named to the Preseason MW team. Mountain West Media Days being held at the Circa Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nev.

Wyoming had two players earn First team All-MW honors on the offensive side of the ball with tight end John Michael Gyllenborg and offensive guard Jack Walsh garnering the honor. Defensive tackle Jordan Bertagnole was named to the defensive team for the second straight season.

Bertagnole started all 13 games en route to being named second-team All-Mountain West Conference. He was also named first team All-MW by Phil Steele.  He ranked fifth on the squad with 60 tackles. Bertagnole added a team-best 5.5 tackles for loss and two sacks. Bertagnole forced one fumble, had six quarterback hurries and two pass break-ups. He recorded multiple tackles in each game save for one. Bertagnole enjoyed a season-high nine tackles at UNLV, while adding eight and seven tackles against Appalachian State and Portland State, respectively. He registered back-to-back contests with a pair of tackles for loss against Hawaii and at Nevada.

Gyllenborg participated in all 13 games with four starts, three of which were the final three contests of the season. He pulled in 23 passes for 360 yards with three touchdowns. Gyllenborg reeled in a career-long 89-yard touchdown pass against Hawaii, which also happened to be the longest passing touchdown of Wyoming’s season. He ended the game against the Rainbow Warriors with a career-high 128 yards receiving. Gyllenborg logged a career-high five receptions against Texas Tech, including the game-leveling touchdown pass on fourth down in overtime.

Walsh started all 13 games. Walsh was named All-MW by Pro Football Focus earning first team honors. He was also named third team All-MW by Phil Steele.  He helped pave the way for Harrison Waylee to rush for north of 100 yards on four different occasions with the high-water mark being 191 yards against New Mexico. Walsh also helped protect Andrew Peasley who threw for at least 140 yards nine different times with a season-high 319 coming against Hawaii. Walsh played a role in Wyoming ranking top-15 nationally in fourth-down conversion percentage at 66.7. The Cowboys were named to the Mid-season Watch List for the Joe Moore Award going to the top offensive line unit in the nation.

Wednesday’s Mountain West Media Day schedule will feature two football student-athletes from each Mountain West school being interviewed by MW television partners CBS Sports Network, FOX Sports, TNT Sports and the Mountain West Network, as well as media members from around the conference.  On Thursday, all 12 head coaches from each Mountain West school will take center stage.

Wyoming is being represented by head coach Jay Sawvel, Bertagnole and running back Harrison Waylee.




QB          Mikey Keene                              Jr.           Fresno State

WR         Tory Horton*                             Gr.          Colorado State

WR         Ricky White III*                         Sr.           UNLV

WR         Jalen Royals*                              Sr.           Utah State

RB           Ashton Jeanty*                          Jr.           Boise State

RB           Malik Sherrod                            Sr.           Fresno State

OL           Kage Casey**                            So.          Boise State

OL           Jacob Gardner**                        Gr.          Colorado State

OL           Mose Vavao**                            Sr.           Fresno State

OL           Tiger Shanks*                             Sr.           UNLV

OL           Jack Walsh                                  Jr.           Wyoming

TE           John Michael Gyllenborg            Jr.           Wyoming



DL           Ahmed Hassanein*                  Sr.           Boise State

DL           Devo Bridges**                       Sr.           Fresno State

DL           Soane Toia**                            Sr.           San José State

DL           Jordan Bertagnole**                Gr.          Wyoming

LB           Andrew Simpson**                  Jr.           Boise State

LB           Chase Wilson**                        Sr.           Colorado State

LB           Jordan Pollard                          Jr.           San José State

LB           Jackson Woodard*                   Sr.           UNLV

DB          A’Marion McCoy                      Sr.           Boise State

DB          Jack Howell*                            Sr.           Colorado State

DB          Cameron Oliver**                    Sr.           UNLV

DB          Ike Larsen*                               Jr.           Utah State



P             James Ferguson-Reynolds*        Jr.           Boise State

PK           Jonah Dalmas**                        Gr.          Boise State

PR           Jacob De Jesus*                        Sr.           UNLV

KR           Jacob De Jesus*                        Sr.           UNLV


Offensive Player of the Year: Ashton Jeanty, Jr., RB, Boise State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Ahmed Hassanein, Sr., DL, Boise State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Woodard, Sr., LB, UNLV

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jacob De Jesus, Sr., PR/KR, UNLV


* – member of the 2023 All-Mountain West first team

** – member of the 2023 All-Mountain West second team

Let us know what you think!