Your Source For Local and Regional News



Featured Sports

Cokeville’s Tims named 1A Girls Outdoor Track Coach of the Year

The Cokeville Girls won their fourth consecutive Wyoming 1A team title by more than 130 points. The program has won five of their last six.

The Wyoming Coaches Association has named their Spring Coach of the Year winners for the 2019 campaign.

Cokeville’s Mark Tims earned the honor for Girls Outdoor Track as his Panthers won the programs fourth straight team title and their fifth in the last sixth season. Other winners in the Girls Outdoor Track category included Dustin Lee (2A), Josiah Smith (3A) and Sean Wilde (4A).

Joel Giorgis of Mountain View was named the Boys Outdoor Coach of the Year for the 3A classification with the Buffalos winning the team title. Other winners included Lee McCoy (1A), Kirk McLaughlin (2A) and Bryan Coventry (4A).

Heath Hayes of Kelly Walsh and Wendy Gamble were named honorees for Assistant Outdoor Track.

On the soccer pitch, Jackson Hole High School’s Matt Hoelscher earned the 4A award with the Broncs winning the school’s first team title in Wyoming’s largest classification. Ron Overcast (3A) was named the other winner for Boys Soccer. The winners for the Girls Soccer division was Marian Miears (3A) and Lyle Foster (4A).

The coaches will be honored later this summer at the annual WCA Hall of Fame-Wards Banquet in Casper on July 19.





Girls Outdoor Track
1A Mark Tims (Cokeville)
2A Dustin Lee (Pine Bluffs)
3A Josiah Smith (Douglas)
4A Sean Wilde (Cheyenne Central)

Boys Outdoor Track
1A Lee McCoy (Upton)
2A Kirk McLaughlin (Big Horn)
3A Joel Giorgis (Mountain View)
4A Bryan Coventry (Kelly Walsh)

Assistant Outdoor Track
Heath Hayes (Kelly Walsh)
Wendy Gamble (Douglas)

Girls Soccer
3A Marian Miears (Cody)
4A Lyle Foster (Thunder Basin)

Boys Soccer
3A Ron Overcast (Worland)
4A Matt Hoelscher (Jackson Hole)

Junior High/Middle School
Matthew Cornelius (Lingle-Ft. Laramie)
Larry Yeradi (Wright)